College Football

B.C.S stands for:Basically it’s a Corrupt  System.  As we saw last year,  teams from small conferences(Boise State) were not given the same opportunity to earn a place in the title game as say, a team from the Big Ten.  I am not saying that the two best teams in the country didn’t play for the national  title, but Boise should have been given a chance to earn their way into the title game.  I am not much of a college football guy myself,  seeing as my college loyalties are to Boston University, who don’t have a football program.  Still, I will give you my insight to college football.

My To Do List for the FBS, BCS whatever it is called:

1. Teach the Big Ten how to count.  Last time I checked,  they have 11 teams.  Then again, I can’t count either.

2. Don’t give any value to the polls that make up the standing right now.  Fine, rank the teams using these but don’t let them decide the National Championship game teams.  instead…

3. ADD A PLAYOFF ALREADY! Look at college basketball.  Their format works just fine.  Instead of 65, take the best 14 teams.  Give the top 2 seeds a bye,  then make a bracket, and BOOM…now you look like geniuses for riding the country of the old, corrupt system.

4.  Dont worry,  you can keep your precious bowls.  Every year, schedule games to be played at the bowl stadiums.  This will keep tradition going, and so on so forth.

5. Restrict agents. Period.  Mandate that they can’t be present at practices. This should help stop some of the problems that have been having.  With coaches committing violations though,  you may need to do more than that.  This whole USC fiasco and all these schools are under investigation, and you look like the FBI investigating  a murder.  The current system of recruiting is being misused,  and right now you can’t stop it from happening.

It seems that college football has an awful lot of problems,  but it is still a great thing.  In college,  players have so much more passion and so much more hustle,  it is the way football should be played.

Really quick I will run through my top 5 teams

5. TCU Yes I picked a Mountain West team for my top five, but I love the underdogs.  2009 MWC offensive player of the Andy Dalton is back and will lead the Horned Frogs to a MWC championship, and  top 5 finish.  Plus,  who doesn’t like a horned frog? 

4.Pittsburgh They have Dion Lewis back at running back, reigning Big East Rookie Offensive Player of the Year, and a solid defense led by DT Greg Romeus, the Panthers should have a shot at a great year.

3. Ohio State. Tyrelle Pryor is primed for a Heisman run, if he can build off his Rose Bowl performance from last season.   They have a defense that ranked 5th in the nation in points last year,  and will come close to repeating that this year.

2. Boise State The Broncos are returning 22 starters this year.   Last time I checked, 22 is an entire offense and defense.  They could have made the championship last year, and I don’t expect anything to change.  Watch out for the Broncos this year.

1.  You are the best until proven otherwise.  Alabama was the national champ,  and they return many of their key players, including reigning  Heisman winner Mark Ingram.  Nick Saban and the Tide will roll on going into the season.

Remember, the best part of college football is the mascots.  But that may be for another post.

-Shane

2 responses to “College Football

  1. Kevin August 24, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    I agree with your rankings mostly, but I root for Boise State and UConn so I dont even see Pitt winning the big east this year, the big East will shake out like this:
    WVU, Pitt, UConn, Cinncinatti, USF, Syracuse, Rutgers, Lousiville.

  2. stovesports September 28, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Lets go Broncos. Shane they have Kellen Moore who only threw 3 interceptions last year only 3. I understand he played against colleges like Louisiana Tech, but you have to be a good quarterback to only throw 3 interceptions.

Leave a comment